Sunday, November 8, 2020

Sunday Dinner at the Dutch Mill Farm Restaurant

Back in the 1950s our Delmar family may have been returning to Delmar after a visit to the western shore.  There were a number of restaurants available to stop at on the way back; Busch’s, the Log Inn, the Wagon Wheel, Etc., but the windmill of the Dutch Mill Farm Restaurant may have attracted their attention. 

The restaurant was started in the 1940s, in a time when restaurants tried to make their property unique so you had Burger places shaped liked burgers and coffee shops shaped like coffee pots.  In 1944 Leroy Corcoran built the restaurant and ran it for 20 years.  In 1965 it was purchased by Arthur Steiner and the name was changed to Old Mill Pancake House.  

After his son came back from Vietnam in 1967 and joined his father at the restaurant, ownership moved to his son, Robert Steiner and in 1988 when attempting to change it to an Italian restaurant his wife shot and killed him. 

In 1989 it was purchased by a group led by Harvey LeRoy “Lee” Atwater (Republican National committee consultant) and renamed ‘Texas Steak and BBQ” and later changed it to “Red Hot and Blue” which it is known as today.

No comments:

Post a Comment